Skip to Content

Office of Research Administration

Human Subjects Research

MSU adheres to a rigorous policy for the protection of human research subjects in accordance with the United States Department of Health and Human Services regulations, 45 CFR 46. All research projects involving human subjects that are conducted under the auspices of the University, regardless of the funding source, must be reviewed and approved by the Institutional Review Board (IRB). The ORA is the administrative unit responsible for coordinating the functions of the IRB. Proposals involving human subjects should be submitted to the ORA for assignment to the appropriate IRB, including the proposed research protocols and informed consent forms.

PIs should allow at least 30 days for completion of IRB review. Following IRB review, the PI will be advised of the outcome in writing, whether approval, disapproval, or deferred approval with suggestions for modifying the proposed protocol. Under no circumstances will a research project involving human subjects be allowed to proceed without prior IRB review and approval.

Questions regarding IRB Process may be directed to the IRB Administrator: Dr. Edet Isuk at or 443-885-4340.

IRB Meeting Schedule
Application Submission Deadlines IRB Meeting Dates
August 8, 2022 August 24, 2022
September 6, 2022 September 21, 2022
October 11, 2022 October 26, 2022
November 8, 2022 November 23, 2022
December 1, 2022 December 7, 2022
January 10, 2023 January 25, 2023
February 7, 2023 February 22, 2023
March 7, 2023 March 22, 2023
April 11, 2023 April 26, 2023
May 9, 2023 May 16, 2023
June 6, 2023 June 14, 2023
IRB - Human Participants Committee Membership

Committee Composition

Federal regulations 45 CFR 46 require that the IRB shall have at least five members, and membership include at a minimum, one member whose primary concerns are in scientific areas, one member whose primary concerns are in nonscientific areas, numerous members representing more than a single profession, and at least one individual not affiliated with the institution.

Morgan's IRB membership is drawn from faculty in several disciplines, from the social, behavioral and biological sciences to the liberal arts and business. The current IRB membership includes the following voting members:

IRB Members

  • Benjamin Welsh, Ph.D., Chairperson, Associate Professor, Education
  • Mian Hossain, Ph.D., Professor, Community Health and Policy
  • Margaret Pittman, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Social Work
  • Lenwood Hayman, Ph.D., Assoc. Professor, Community Health and Policy
  • Macie Tillman, D.D., non-affiliated member
  • Karen Watkins-Lewis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Psychology
  • Simone Gibson, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Education
  • Mohammad Tirmazi, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Social Work


  • Willie May, Ph.D., Institutional Official
  • Edet Isuk, Ph.D., IRB Administrator
  • Olatunde Aladesote, Research Compliance Assistant

Note:  A quorum will be a majority (greater than 50%) of the voting members of the IRB. For reasons other than conflict of interest, abstentions do not alter the quorum, or change the number of votes required.