The NSF Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (S-STEM) program supports the retention and graduation of high-achieving students from Baltimore City and surrounding counties who have demonstrated financial need as indicated by having Pell Grant Eligibility.


The award will be up to $6000 a year and will be renewable for years 2-4 if you maintain good academic standing.


The program is eligible for Baltimore area freshmen who pursue degrees in biology, chemistry, mathematics, and physics. The minimum GPA is 3.2/4.0 and four years of high school math and science. Students must obtain Pell grant eligibility to receive an award.

Program Services

In addition to receiving a scholarship, the S-STEM scholars will experience a holistic approach to persistence through building and maintaining self-efficacy and science identity while instilling the value of STEM careers in their home communities. Scholars will receive:

• interdisciplinary chairperson mentoring
• accelerated Math program
• opportunity to engage in research experiences (including conference travel)
• assistance with graduate/professional school applications 

NSF S-STEM activities will also feature a freshmen year wellness program, a living-learning community, interdisciplinary experimental projects, professional development activities, and social events.


The application for Spring 2021 is due January 8, 2021.  The application will be available on November 1, 2020.  Only current Morgan freshmen are eligible to apply.  

The AY 2021 -2022 S-STEM application for incoming freshmen will be available on December 1, 2020. Visit our Apply page now for application requirements.  FUSE applicants are STRONGLY encouraged to apply to Morgan State University by the priority deadline of November 15.  The application deadline is February 15, 2021. Prospective students are strongly encouraged to submit their 2021-2022 FAFSA

Advertising Material

If you are a Baltimore area high school or other student-centered organization looking to advertise this program to your students,  our program flyer is coming soon.


Department of Chemistry
Chairperson: Dr. Angela Winstead

Morgan State Admissions 

Department of Physics
Chairperson: Dr. Willie Rockward
Department of Mathematics
Chairperson: Dr. Asamoah Nkwanta
Department of Biology
Chairperson: Dr. Cleo Hughes-Darden

Grace Nyambura, Program Coordinator
Email: Morgan-FUSE@morgan.edu
Office Location: Key Hall, G55
Phone: 443-885-4339