Skip to Content

Morgan Campus Signage CAP Center

Three Morgan Faculty Research Scientists Named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

by Morgan State U
April 19, 2024

Distinguished Lifetime Honor Recognizes Trio’s Research and Achievements in the Disciplinary Section of Industrial Science and Technology

BALTIMORE — Three esteemed Morgan State University faculty members were elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals. Paul B. Tchounwou, D.Sc., Kevin T. Kornegay, Ph.D., and Farin Kamangar, Ph.D., M.D., each recognized for their advancement of science and service to society spanning their accomplished careers, were named to the 2023 class of AAAS Fellows comprising 502 scientists, engineers and innovators from around the world and across 24 disciplines. Election as an AAAS Fellow is one of the most distinguished honors within the scientific community.

“The Morgan Community is immensely proud of the achievements of these three scientists, and we congratulate Drs. Tchounwou, Kornegay and Kamangar on being named AAAS Fellows. Receiving this honor further showcases the breadth of expertise of our faculty here at the National Treasure,” said David K. Wilson, president of Morgan. “Their groundbreaking research not only elevates our institution’s stature among nationally recognized research institutions but also underscores our commitment to scientific excellence and our mission to impact the global community by advancing knowledge and addressing today’s, and tomorrow’s, most pressing societal challenges.”

Elected by the AAAS Council under the affiliated section of Industrial Science and Technology were the following members of Morgan’s faculty:

Dr. Paul Tchounwou

Dr. Paul B. Tchounwou, dean of the School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences (SCMNS), elected an AAAS Fellow for his seminal contributions to the identification of molecular targets for cancer therapy, as well as policy decisions by the U. S. Government regarding the management of toxic and hazardous materials. He is also ranked among the “World’s Top 2% of Scientists” by Stanford University for his more than 30 years of achievement in academic and scientific research.

Dr. Paul Tchounwou

Dr. Kevin T. Kornegay, the Eugene DeLoatch Endowed Professor in IoT and founding director of Morgan’s Cybersecurity Assurance and Policy (CAP) Center, was designated an AAAS Fellow for his formative contributions to the field of electrical engineering, and most notably integrated circuits, wide-bandgap semiconductor devices, and IoT device security.

Dr. Paul Tchounwou

Dr. Farin Kamangar, University Distinguished Professor and assistant vice president for Research at Morgan was inducted an AAAS Fellow for his distinguished contributions to the etiology of esophageal and gastric cancers in high-risk areas of the world and advancing our knowledge of risk factors and the prevention of chronic diseases. Dr. Kamangar is also included among the “World’s Top 2% of Scientists.”

“As we celebrate the 150th anniversary of the AAAS Fellows Program, AAAS is proud to recognize the newly elected individuals. This year’s class embodies scientific excellence, fosters trust in science throughout the communities they serve, and leads the next generation of scientists while advancing scientific achievements,” said Sudip S. Parikh, Ph.D., AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals.

The new Fellows will receive a certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin (representing science and engineering, respectively) to commemorate their election and will be celebrated at a forum being held on September 21, 2024, at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C. The 2023 Fellows class will also be featured in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science in April 2024.

This year marks the 150th of the AAAS Fellows program’s recognition of scientific achievement.  Election as a Fellow of AAAS is a lifetime honor, but it comes with an expectation that recipients maintain commonly held standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity. A complete listing of the 2023 AAAS Fellows class can be viewed online.

About Morgan State University 

Morgan State University, founded in 1867, is a Carnegie-classified high research (R2) institution offering more than 150 academic degree and certificate programs leading to degrees from the baccalaureate to the doctorate. As Maryland’s Preeminent Public Urban Research University, and the only university to have its entire campus designated as a National Treasure by the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Morgan serves a multiethnic and multiracial student body and seeks to ensure that the doors of higher education are opened as wide as possible to as many as possible. For more information about Morgan State University, visit

# # #

Media Contacts:

Dell Jackson or Larry Jones for University PR