Skip to Content

Master's in Architecture


The National Architectural Accrediting Board requires that the following statement be included,  in its entirety, in the catalogues and promotional materials of all accredited programs:

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB),which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Morgan State University, School of Architecture and Planning offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

      • M. Arch. (pre-professional degree + 38 graduate credits: "3+2 Master of Architecture Degree Program)
      • M. Arch. (pre-professional degree + 60 graduate credits)
      • M. Arch. (non-pre-professional degree + 90 credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2025