Skip to Content

Board of Regents

Policies & Procedures

Morgan State University is governed by the Board of Regents, a 15 member board, as established under Title 14 of the Education Article, Annotated Code of Maryland. The Governor of Maryland appoints Board members for five-year terms, except for the student regent who is appointed for a one-year term. The Board appoints the University President, who serves at the pleasure of the Board. The Board also sets admission standards, review and approves university policies, budgets, and establishes the regulatory framework within which the individual units operate. The governing documents of the Board include its Bylaws, and policies which are adopted by the Board and define the parameters for how the Board, in collaboration with President, governs the institution. The Bylaws establish the rules by which the Board organizes itself and conducts business. Board Policies and Procedures are broad statements that have been approved by the Board on particular issues that support the purpose, principles and philosophy of the mission of the University.