Skip to Content

Office of Transfer Student Programming

Tau Sigma: National Honor Society for Transfer Students

“Recognizing and Promoting the Academic Excellence and Involvement of Transfer Students”

Tau Sigma is an academic honor society designed specifically to "recognize and promote the academic excellence and involvement of transfer students."

Tau Sigma was established to recognize the academic achievement of the most outstanding transfer students and, in the process, help serve the University better and their academic peers and colleagues. Tau Sigma members (among the most accomplished transfer students on campus) are perhaps the greatest resource available to serve the current and future transfers at Morgan State University. Spring 2012 inductees made history because they were the first lifetime members to sign the chapter roll. Morgan State University was the first HBCU in the state of Maryland to be awarded a charter (March 2012).

Click here for the Constitution and By-laws.

Membership Criteria:

  1. The student must be enrolled as a full-time student,
  2. The student must transfer to Morgan State University with at least one full year's worth of academic credits (i.e., 24 credits) and
  3. The student must finish their first term after transferring to Morgan State University with a 3.5 GPA.

Eligible students are determined by the chapter adviser each year, with an induction ceremony occurring toward the end of each spring semester.

For more information, e-mail the chapter at
Tau Sigma National Headquarters is located at Auburn University in Alabama:



Annual Scholarship Recipients

2019-2020 - Kendra Mariah Gantt, Social Work

2018-2019 - Robert Massenburg, Social Work, Graduated May 2019

2017-2018 - Oreoluwa Oluyen, Health Education, Graduated December 2018

2016-2017 - Ayla Gaudreau, Architecture and Environmental Design, Graduated December 2017

2015-2016 - Mark Gregoire, Elementary Education, Graduated May 2017

2014-2015 - Samuel Dogini - Construction Management, Graduated May 2015

2013-2014 - Sharhonda Hopkins Henderson, Nursing, Graduated May 2014

2012-2013 - Omolola Adeoye, Biology, Graduated May 2013 (President of Inaugural Chapter)


2023-2024 Current Officers

  • President Shaimeira Meekins, Computer Science
  • Vice President Takiya Eastmond, Electrical Engineering
  • Secretary Canssidle Ndungu, Computer Science
  • Treasurer Doreen Andoh, Biology
  • Historian Aaliyah Walker, Sociology, Concentration in Criminal Justice

2022-2023 Officers

  • President, Lauren Brown, Computer Science; Economics (minor); Graduated May 2023
  • Vice President, Thrina Akpala, Elementary Education; Graduated May 2023
  • Secretary, Justyus Jackson, Biology
  • Treasurer, VACANT
  • Historian, Summer Gray, Fine Arts Multimedia; Sociology (minor)

2019-2021 Officers

  • President, Summer Gray, Fine Arts Multimedia & Sociology (minor)
  • Vice President, Naheemat Taoheed, Medical Laboratory Science & Biology
  • Secretary, Trenise Bush, Architecture and Environmental Design
  • Treasurer, Rilwan Taoheed, Electrical & Computer Engineering

2019-2021 Officers

  • President, Kayla Dukes, Elementary Education
  • Vice President, Chukwuemeka Okafor, Computer Science
  • Secretary, Kendra Mariah Gantt - Graduated May 2020, Social Work
  • Treasurer, Tobi Plumpter, Information Systems

2017-2018 Officers

  • President, Robert Massenburg - Graduated May 2019, Social Work
  • Vice President, Oreoluwa Oluyen - Graduated December 2018, Health Education
  • Secretary, Open
  • Treasurer, Lechi Nwanegwo - Graduated May 2018, Biology

2015-2017 Officers

  • President, Somona Diggs - Graduated May 2017, Business Administration
  • Vice President, Ngozi Madu - Graduated May 2017, Medical Technology
  • Secretary, Vanessa Johnson - Graduated December 2017, Business Administration
  • Public Relations Officer/Alumni Director, Carisse Lansiquot - Graduated May 2017, Chemistry
  • Financial Manager, Derek Simmons, Electrical Engineering

2014-2015 Officers

  • President, Samuel Dogini - Graduated May 2015, Construction Management
  • Vice President, Shankia Little - Graduated May 2015, English
  • Secretary, Brianna Coleman - Graduated May 2015, Construction Management
  • Public Relations Officer, Howard Winchester - Graduated December 2015, Public Relations, Advertising and Media Sales and Ratings
  • Treasurer, Monique Maison - Graduated May 2015, Biology

2013-2014 Officers

  • President, Sharhonda Hopkins Henderson - Graduated May 2014, Nursing
  • Vice President, Shiquita Nelson - Graduated December 2014, Information Systems
  • Secretary, Candace McCray - Graduated May 2014, Screenwriting and Animation
  • Treasurer, Nicole Newman, Elementary Education
  • Alumni Director:  Komlavi Gamedah - Graduated December 2014, Political Science
  • Historian:  Randi Roberts, Industrial Engineering

2012-2013 Officers (Inaugural Chapter)

  • President, Omolola Adeoye - Graduated May 2013, Biology
  • Vice President, Kechi Amaefule - Graduated May 2014, Public Relations, Advertising and Media Sales and Ratings
  • Secretary, Shiquita Nelson - Graduated December 2014, Information Systems
  • Treasurer, Wendy McGee-Preti - Graduated December 2012, Architecture
  • Vice President for Public Relations:  Joanne Felix - Graduated May 2014, Hospitality Management
  • Vice President for Membership Communication:  Sharhonda Hopkins Henderson - Graduated May 2014, Nursing
  • Alumni Director:  Komlavi Gamedah - Graduated December 2014, Political Science
  • Historian:  Randi Roberts, Industrial Engineering
  • Fund Raising Director:  Elizabeth Mbou - Graduated May 2014, Nursing