Skip to Content

Office of the President

Presidents of the University

Morgan State University is fortunate to have been led by presidents who have placed the University on a path of success and excellence. Since its founding as The Centenary Biblical Institute in 1867, there have been 10 inaugurated presidents. In addition, two others have served as acting and/or interim president. President Dwight O. W. Holmes was the first African American to lead the institution, then known as Morgan College.

David Kwabena Wilson, Ed.D.
July 2010 - Present

Earl S. Richardson, Ed.D.
1984 - 2010

Andrew Billingsley, Ph.D.
1975 - 1984

Thomas P. Fraser, Ph.D. (Interim)
1974 - 1975 (Morgan State College)

King Virgil Cheek, J.D.
1971 - 1974 (Morgan State College)

Thomas P. Fraser, Ph.D. (Interim) 
1970 - 1971 (Morgan State College)

Martin D. Jenkins, Ph.D. LL.D.
1948 - 1970 (Morgan State College)

Dwight O.W. Holmes, Ph.D. LL.D.
1937 - 1948 (Morgan State College)

John Oakley Spencer, Ph.D. LL.D.
1902 - 1937 (Morgan College)

Charles Edmond Young, D.D. (Acting President)
1901 - 1902 (Morgan College)

John J. Wagner, D.D.
1888 - 1901 (Morgan College)

William Maslin Frysinger, D.D.
1882 - 1888 (Centenary Biblical Institute)

J. Emory Round, D.D.
1872 - 1882 (Centenary Biblical Institute)