Recent Student Highlights

Three SCMNS students, John Paul Akinbami (junior chemistry major), Dolapo Nurudeen (sophomore biology major), and Ayanna Culmer-Gilbert (junior chemistry major), applied and were accepted to the Johns Hopkins University's Explore Hopkins Weekend held October 4—6, 2018. All three students conduct research in the Chemistry Department on a volunteer basis (October, 2018).

Industrial and Computational Mathematics PhD candidate, Mrs. Zeinab Bandpey's paper, "A Study of Generalized Continuous Functions," has been accepted for publication in the International Journal of Advances in Mathematics. The paper is co-authored by Mrs. Bandpey's joint PhD advisor, Dr. Bhamini Nayar (September, 2018).

Actuarial Science Alumnus, Mr. Alpha Bada (2013) has attained the Associate of Society of Actuaries (AsA) designation. This achievement puts Mr. Bada on track to become Morgan's first Fellow of the Society of Actuaries (September, 2018).

Sophomore mathematics major, Myka Terry presented her research paper, "Investigating First Returns: The Effect of Multicolored Vectors," at the NAM Mathfest at Spelman College, Atlanta. Ms. Terry's research advisor is Dr. Leon Woodson (September, 2018).

Ms. Fatemeh Norouzi, PhD candidate in the Industrial and Computational Mathematics Program, presented her paper, "How to model volatility in stock exchange by GARCH(p,q) model" at the Mathematical Association of America Mathfest in Denver, CO on August 4, 2018. Ms. Norouzi is conducting research under the guidance of Dr. Elisabeth Kemajou-Brown of the Mathematics Department (August, 2018).

Two Biology majors, Mr. Benjamin Frey (May 2018 graduate - pictured left) and Ms. Shauna Tabb (rising senior - pictured right), were selected as Bunting Family Foundation interns during the summer of 2018 at the Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology (IMET). Ben and Shauna both made a strong and positive impression during their internships. Ben has been accepted to the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMET) master's degree program. He will work in the laboratory of Professor David Secor at the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory with Dr. Rosemary Jagus as a co-advisor. Shauna has been invited to continue her research project in the laboratory of Profesor Sook Chung during the Fall 2018 semester. Read more about their experiences here (August, 2018).

Dy'mon Walker

Recent Biology alumna, Dy'mon Walker (Class of 2018), received an Honorable Mention for her poster presentation, "Effect of Salinity on Microcystin Production and Protein Expression in Selected Cyanobacteria," at the 35th Annual Mid-Atlantic Plan Molecular Biology Society Meeting at the Patuxent Research Refuge in Laurel, Maryland. A total of 28 students presented at the meeting, hailing from a variety of institutions, including the University of Virginia, the University of Delaware, Virginia Tech, Towson University, the University of Maryland, Hagerstown Community College, Frederick Community College, Al Azhar University, and Frostburg State University. Other presenters from SCMNS include Somayeh Gharaie Fathabad (Bioenvironmental Science Ph.D. Candidate) and Shaveen McKen (senior Biology major) who presented their research findings with Dr. Viji Sitther of the Biology Department as their mentor (August, 2018).

Michael McDonald, a sophomore Computer Science Major, and Michael Guy III, a sophomore Physics Major, were awarded the Hercules Scholarship from the Tom Joyner Foundation (November, 2017).

Extreme Science Internships at Johns Hopkins University have been awarded to the following MSU students (May, 2017):

Ph.D. candidate in Industrial and Computational Mathematics, Zeinab Bandpey, has contributed an article, "Equations of Peace," to the May–June 2017 Newsletter of the Association for Women in Mathematics (April, 2017).

Computer Science students, Marissa Bush, Chevane Minto, and Joshua Olumese, and Ambria Dolison in Electrical Engingeering, have been accepted for summer internships at Facebook.  Dionna Burrell and Trevon Wiggs in Computer Science have been accepted for summer internships at Google (April, 2017).

Freshman Computer Science Major, Chauncey Rogers (mentored by Dr. Edward Dillon), has been accepted for a 10-week summer internship program with the Florida State University Computer Science Department (April, 2017).

Graduating senior in Computer Science, Martina Taylor, has been admitted to the NYU Tandon School of Engineering to do a PhD in Cybersecurity (April, 2017).

Graduating senior in Computer Science, Marc Brooks (mentored by Dr. Sam Tannouri), won the first prize in the 24th Annual Undergraduate and Graduate Symposium for his project designing a tic-tac-toe puzzle game (April 2017).

Ph.D. candidate in BioEnvironmental Science, Behnam Tabatabai, has published a paper, co-authored with Dr. Viji Siither, "Overexpression of hlyB and mdh genes confers halotolerance in Fremyella diplosiphon, a freshwater cyanobacterium," in the journal, Enzyme and Microbial Technology (April, 2017).