Ph.D. in Industrial and Computational Mathematics

Program Description

Applied mathematics is concern with mathematical methods that are used in science, engineering, business, government, and industry. Industrial and computational mathematics are subfields of the mathematical sciences and branches of applied mathematics. Research in the area of applied mathematics is indispensably connected with research in pure mathematics. In addition to topics from pure mathematics, industrial mathematics includes theoretical topics from various fields such as physics, biology, economics and computer science. An important focus of industrial mathematics is on problems which come from industry and/or government. Computational mathematics emerged as a distinct part of applied mathematics by the early 1950s. An important focus of computational mathematics is that it involves mathematical research in STEM areas where computing plays an essential role, emphasizing algorithms, numerical methods, and symbolic methods.

applied mathematics diagram

Morgan State University's Ph.D. program in Industrial and Computational Mathematics is one of three Historical Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) that offers the Ph.D. in the mathematical sciences. The ICM program is one of two Ph.D. programs in the School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences (SCMNS) and was started with the goal to help address the shortage of underrepresented minorities that obtain doctoral degrees in mathematics.


The Ph.D. program in ICM has achieved more university-wide recognition, interdisciplinary interactions are underway with other schools in the University such as the Schools of Architecture and Planning, Engineering, Education, Social Work, and the College of Liberal Arts. There are also interactions with other units within the University such as the Patuxent Environmental & Aquatic Research Laboratory (PEARL) and the Center for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Education (CEMSE). Additionally, there are external interdisciplinary interactions with Rutgers University, the State University of New Jersey.


The Ph.D. program in ICM offers opportunities for candidates to receive in depth study in a variety of fields from several branches of mathematics. The Department of Mathematics has faculty members with expertise in real analysis, complex analysis, functional analysis, nonlinear analysis, algebra, enumerative combinatorics, lattice theory, partial and ordinary differential equations, dynamical systems, operations research, numerical analysis, topology, mathematical modeling, mathematical physics, mathematical biology, and mathematical statistics.


Specifically, our goals are:
1. To provide graduate students with essential academic knowledge, research and practical skills needed for successful careers in Industrial and Computational Mathematics related jobs at various private institutions, government agencies, academia, and industry. This will be accomplished by: training students on the interaction between various areas of pure, applied, industrial and computational mathematics.
2. Educating students on the importance of applying industrial and computational mathematics models, techniques and tools to solve real-world problems from industry and government.
3. Providing interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary research training
4. Establishing partnerships with other research-intensive universities, government agencies, international organizations and the private sector that will provide training and internships to facilitate applied research activity and future career opportunities for students;
5. Establishing community outreach programs that provide awareness regarding the impact of industrial and computational mathematics as applied to finding solutions to real-world problems in industry and government.

Program Coordinator

Dr. Xuming Xie

Industrial and Computational Mathematics Graduate Faculty

Dr. Xuming Xie
Director, Ph.D. in Industrial and Computational Mathematics and Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: Calloway Hall 223
Phone: (443) 885-3890
Xuming.Xie@morgan.edu
Dr. Gaston N'Guerekata
Associate Dean and University Distinguished Professor of Mathematics
Office: Dixon 200
Phone: (443) 885-4515
Gaston.N'Guerekata@morgan.edu
Dr. Xiao-Xiong Gan
Professor of Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall G66
Phone: (443) 885-3079
Fax: (443) 885-8139
Xiao-Xiong.Gan@morgan.edu
Dr. Asamoah Nkwanta
Chair and Professor of Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall 251
Phone: (443) 885-3964
Asamoah.Nkwanta@morgan.edu
Dr. Alexander Pankov
Professor of Mathematics
Office: Calloway Hall 314
Phone: (443) 885-4656
Alexander.Pankov@morgan.edu
Professor of Physics & Engineering Physics
Office: Dixon Research Center 106
Phone: (443) 885-4560
Dereje.Seifu@morgan.edu
Dr. Mingchao Cai
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: Key Hall 169
Phone: (443) 885-4649
Mingchao.Cai@morgan.edu
Dr. Jonathan Farley
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: Key Hall 150
Phone: (443) 885-3473
Jonathan.Farley@morgan.edu
Dr. Elisabeth Kemajou-Brown
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall 152
Phone: (443) 885-3347
Elisabeth.Brown@morgan.edu
Dr. Bhamani Nayar
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall 351
Phone: (443) 885-3775
Bhamini.Nayar@morgan.edu
Dr. James Wachira
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: Dixon Research Center 110
Phone: (443) 885-3632
James.Wachira@morgan.edu
Dr. Guoping Zhang
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall 256
Phone: (443) 885-4338
Guoping.Zhang@morgan.edu
Dr. Najat Ziyadi
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall 350
Phone: (443) 885-4433
Najat.Ziyadi@morgan.edu
Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Coordinator of the M.S. in Bioinformatics Program
Office: McMechen Hall 620
Phone: (443) 885-1730
Abdollah.Dehzangi@morgan.edu
Dr. Kendra Pleasant
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Office: McMechen Hall 615
Phone: (443) 885-1007
Kendra.Pleasant@morgan.edu
Dr. Cohen Marshall
Visiting Professor of Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall 150
Phone: (443) 885-4650
Marshall.Cohen@morgan.edu
Dr. Rodney Kerby
Lecturer in Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall 254
Phone: (443) 885-4355
Rodney.Kerby@morgan.edu
Dr. Ahlam Tannouri
Dr. Ahlam Tannouri
Instructor in Mathematics
Office: Carnegie Hall 357
Phone: (443) 885-4654
Ahlam.Tannouri@morgan.edu



Program Graduates