Accounting and Finance Faculty

The Department of Accounting and Finance stands out in that it is one of three accounting programs at historical black colleges and universities (HBCUs) in the U.S. to have accounting accreditation by the AACSB. Furthermore, it is the only AACSB-accredited HBCU to have a Ph.D. program in accounting. The Department of Accounting and Finance has 11 full time accounting and 6 full time finance faculty members. The accounting faculty body is very diverse with faculty members from every corner of the globe. This diversity is one of the strengths of the department.

We have six faculty who have passed the CPA exam, one who is a Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA), two who are Certified Management Accountants (CMAs), one who is a Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE), one who is a Certified Financial Manager (CFM), and two with law degrees. In the most recent five-year period, the faculty have published in well-recognized journals in their discipline and produced a substantial portfolio of intellectual contributions (ICs) items. The depth and quality of IC production can be attributed, in part, to the readily available access to a wide variety of financial databases. The School continues to subscribe to CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) security price data, Standard and Poor's COMPUSTAT, Thomson Financial's I/B/E/S, Audit Analytics, Standard and Poor's ExecuComp, and 10K Wizard. More recent databases include Risk Metrics, SDC's Mergers and Acquisitions, and Bloomberg.

Faculty & Staff

Kelly Carter

Dr. Kelly Carter

view profile
Associate Professor GSBM 572 443-885-4472 kelly.carter@morgan.edu
Kang Cheng

Dr. Kang Cheng

view profile
Associate Professor GSBM 568 443-885-3441 kang.cheng@morgan.edu
Linda Clark

Linda Clark

view profile
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT GSBM 516 443-885-3445 linda.clark@morgan.edu
Yu Cong

Dr. Yu Cong

view profile
Associate Professor GSBM 564 443-885-1692 yu.cong@morgan.edu
Dina El-Mahdy

Dr. Dina El-Mahdy

view profile
Associate Professor GSBM 576 443-885-3967 dina.elmahdy@morgan.edu
Faculty Staff Profile Thumbnail

Sharon Finney

view profile
Associate Professor & Department Chair GSBM 516A 443-885-4775 sharon.finney@morgan.edu
Faculty Staff Profile Thumbnail

Dr. Bilal Makkawi

view profile
Associate Professor GSBM 566 443-885-4459 bmakkawi@yahoo.com
Faculty Staff Profile Thumbnail

Dr. Buagu Musazi

view profile
Associate Professor GSBM 562 443-885-4456 buagu.musazi@morgan.edu
Pamela Queen

Dr. Pamela Queen

view profile
Associate Professor GSBM 522 443-885-1694 pamela.queen@morgan.edu
Alex Tang

Dr. Alex Tang

view profile
Professor GSBM 514A 443-885-3175 alex.tang@morgan.edu
Faculty Staff Profile Thumbnail

Dr. Sheela Thiruvadi

view profile
Associate Professor GSBM 570 443-885-2096 sheela.thiruvadi@morgan.edu
Cynthia Tollerson

Dr. Cynthia Tollerson

view profile
Assistant Professor GSBM 540 443-885-3881 cynthia.tollerson@morgan.edu
Barkat Ullah

Dr. Barkat Ullah

view profile
Assistant Professor GSBM 546 443-885-3023 barkat.ullah@morgan.edu