Skip to Content

National Transportation Center

Personnel, Staff, and Advisory Board

Researchers for Collaboration at Our Partner Universities

Contact information for staff is available in our Directory of Key Personnel.


Mansoureh Jeihani
Phone: 443-885-1873 
Associate Director
Cinzia Cirillo
Phone: 301-405-6864
Associate Director
Hesham Rakha
Phone: 540-231-1505

Collaborative Researchers


University of Maryland

Cinzia Cirillo
Phone: 301-405-6864
Ali Haghani
Phone: 301-405-1963
Paul Schonfeld
Phone: 301-405-1954
Gang-Len Chang
Phone: 301-405-1953
Lei Zhang

Virginia Tech

Hesham Rakha
Phone: 540-231-1505
Hao Chen
Phone: 540-231-3629
Ihab El-Shawarby
Phone: 540-231-1577
Jianhe Du
Phone: 540-231-2673, 540-231-2673
Karim Fadhloun
Kyoungho Ahn
Phone: 703-538-8447
Mohammed Elhenawy
Phone: 540-231-2974
Youssef Bichiou
Phone: 540-231-1500

Morgan State University

Mansoureh Jeihani
Phone: 443-885-1873 
Dr. Anam Ardeshiri
Dr. Sanjay Bapna 
Phone: 443-885-3941
Dr. Celeste Chavis
Phone: 443-885-5061
Dr. Chunlei Fan
Phone: 443-885-4083,
Dr. Cynthia Glass
Dr. James Hunter
Phone: 443-885-4733
Dr. Dong Hee Kang
Phone: 443-885-4728
Dr. Young-Jae Lee
Phone: 443-885-1872
Dr. Kofi Nyarko
Phone: 443-885-3476
Dr. Oludare Owolabi
Phone: 443-885-5445
Dr. Eazaz Sadeghvaziri
Dr. Anthony Saka
Phone: 443-885-1871
Dr. Hyeon-Shic Shin
Phone: 443-885-3228
Alirezza Ansariyar
Bhuyan Istiak
Muhib Kabir
Amirezza Nickkar
Nashid Khadem
*Any tenure track professor at Morgan is eligible to partner in UMEC research.


Project Planner
Anita Jones
Phone: 443-885-4813 
Office Clerk II
Sonia McDonald
Phone: 443-885-3666
Editor and Communications Manager
Joseph Niehaus
Phone: 443-885-1039
Research and Outreach Coordinator
Connie Tang
Phone: 301-405-9803

Advisory Board

Moges Ayele, D.P.A.
Senior Liaison for Higher Education (ret), Federal Highway Administration
Phone: 240-565-5187
Oscar Barton Jr., Ph.D., P.E. Dean
Clarence M. Mitchell Jr. School of Engineering, Morgan State University
Phone: 443 885-3231
Christopher Costello
Public Sector Consulting Group
Phone: 410-947-4726
Nimish Desai, PE
Department Manager – Water Resources
Phone: 410-645-1405
Charles Glass, Ph.D.
Deputy Secretary, Department of Natural Resources
Tranell N. Griffin
Senior Performance Analyst, Office of Transit Performance Management (PERF)
Phone: 202.893-2354
Don Halligan
Senior Transportation Planner, Baltimore Metropolitan Council
Phone: 410-732-0500, ext. 1002
Dana Knight
KCI Technologies
Phone: 410-316-7937
Gregory Murrill
Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration
Phone: 410-962-4440
Amy A. O’Leary, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Virginia Transportation Research Council
Phone: 434 -293-1995
Aly Tawfik, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Geomatics Engineering
Phone: 559-278-8791
Philip Thomas
Division Administrator, USDOT/Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
Phone: 443-703-2365
Richard Woo, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Policy and Research, State Highway Administration
Phone: 410-545-0340
Dr. Johanna Zmud
Senior Research Scientist, Head, Multimodal Planning Division
Phone: 202-679-3195