The National Architectural Accrediting Board requires that the following statement be included,  in its entirety, in the catalogues and promotional materials of all accredited programs:

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Morgan State University, School of Architecture and Planning offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

      • M. Arch. (pre-professional degree + 36 graduate credits: "3+2 Master of Architecture Degree Program)
      • M. Arch. (pre-professional degree + 60 graduate credits)
      • M. Arch. (non-pre-professional degree + 90 credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2017  


2011 NAAB Architecture Program Report

2011 NAAB Visiting Team Report

The 2014 Conditions for Accreditation

The Conditions for Accreditation in effect at the time of the last visit (2009)

The Procedures for Accreditation currently in effect (2015)