Angela Gaither-Scott

Angela Gaither-Scott
Retention Counselor, Student Success and Retention Program
Office Location: 
Holmes Hall 206
(443) 885-1886

Angela Gaither-Scott is a graduate of Morgan State University where she majored in Elementary Education. She received a Master of Science in Information Systems and Telecommunication from Johns Hopkins University. She developed a passion for education while teaching elementary school students in the Baltimore City Public Schools. Ms. Gaither-Scott served as the recruiter and advisor in the Teacher Education Advisement and Retention Center (TEAR-C) for the School of Education at Coppin State University. Her responsibilities included providing ongoing support to current undergraduate students and build relationships with potential applicants of the university.  Her advisory duties included early intervention and tracking student progress to improve retention and graduation rates.    In addition, she served as the ETS Test Center Supervisor for Praxis testing.   

Ms. Gaither-Scott was instrumental in completing the articulation agreement with the Teacher Academy of Maryland and Coppin State University.  She recruited students who majored in Education by offering scholarships and transcripted credits.  She worked tirelessly with Institutional Advancement to identify students that qualified for private donor scholarships. Her goal is to develop ongoing relationships with the students that not only enriches their knowledge base but also encourages them to succeed in their chosen profession.

As the retention counselor for the College of Liberal Arts, Ms. Gaither-Scott will be responsible for assisting with the coordination of the overall student retention activities, including academic advisement, mentoring student development, and assisting with the ACCESS Orientation Program and other campus-wide retention initiatives.  

As an alumnus of Morgan State University, Ms. Gaither-Scott is committed to giving back to the university.  She has been an active member of the Morgan State University Gala Committee for over twenty years. She is also a member of the 2013 alumni chapter of the year, MSU Howard County Alumni Chapter and a Life Member of the MSU National Alumni Association.